This makes me ridiculously happy:

laundry snow sunshine April 26 2008

For the second weekend in a row, I have been able to hang clothes on the line and watch them flutter in the breeze. Even the fact that there is still snow in the background doesn’t dampen my delight, because there is less than there was last week!

Of course, the melting comes with a price in this region, and my thoughts and prayers go out to all of our neighbours dealing with flooding and water damage.

On the knitting front, I am squeezing in a bit of time with my love, Lizard Ridge, but my quest to knit a pair of socks every month (or two) in 2008 continues. On the needles at the moment:

Cotton Fondo sock and bag 3

I’m designing a 3 x 1 rib sock, and experimenting with needle size to see if I can create a go-to pattern for times when I want more stretch.

Don’t you love how once you have something on your radar, it keeps cropping up? When I was in Ontario last month, I had a discussion about saints with my daughter’s friend, Chris. This prompted some thinking about patron saints, and in particular St. Thomas Aquinas, the patron saint of students. But I didn’t think for a moment about a patron saint of knitting (where was my mind?), so I was intrigued to see this blog entry pop up on my blog host home page:

Who knew?

* * *
I hope that it is as nice where you are as it is here. The fresh air wafting in is punctuated by the sound of the brook running, birds tweeting, and every now and then a shriek from the kids next door as they howl “What time is it, Mr. Wolf?” (now that brings back memories!). It doesn’t get much better than this.

It almost makes me forget that I am off to the basement to work on our weekend project: emptying the computer room, painting it, and putting a lot less back in! So far… three bags for reycling, one bag to give to a good cause, and a half-bag of garbage. Not too bad. More room for my yarn.

