Daughter-the-first over at Nerd in Northampton got me interested in Heidi’s Friday Night Sew In…a great motivator given that I have so many WIPs at the moment, and several birthday and Christmas deadlines looming.

So I decided to shake things up (and by that I mean finding some knitting mojo) and spent Friday night whipping up a pair of mittens for daughter-the-second’s December birthday.

Birthday Mittens for Emily

Warm Hands for Miss Ems


Pattern: Favourite Soft Mitts by Fleece Artist
Made for: Emily, to replace a well-worn and puppy-chewed pair
Yarn: Mohair & Blue Face Leicester (held together) by Fleece Artist
Needles: 4.5 mm and 5 mm

Emily has had her own beautiful style for many years. She was rocking berets long before they were trendy again, and I plan to make her a lovely new beret to match the mittens. Stay tuned!

