You are currently browsing the daily archive for December 29, 2007.

Well. Here it is. My own little corner of the blogging world.

Herein will reside my best efforts to share the wonders of my regular and knitting worlds with family and friends. While there are some (you know who you are) who think the knitting thing is negligible–this despite its decades-long presence in my life– I consider it my mission to gain your respect for the not-so-humble needles and yarn. I figure that I’ll cleverly entwine enough family news into the knitting theme that you’ll convert to my way of thinking without even noticing. Heh.

Evil, perhaps, but for the greater good.

To that end, here is a gratuitous shot of my precocious (and perpetually astonished) nephew Elliott wearing the cardigan I made for him last year. Despite the overwhelming cute factor of this sweater, I cursed every moment that I had to handle the yarn (King Cole’s Sprinkles), as it caught on every rough patch of skin or fingernail and made me long for my usual natural fibres. But I love Elliott so much that I’m making a blanket for him out of the remaining yarn. Will need a stiff glass of Bailey’s on hand to make it bearable, I’m afraid.

Elliott, astonished.

Blog Stats

  • 34,062 hits
December 2007
S M T W T F S
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

I'm reading:


Emotionally Weird
by Kate Atkinson

The Nine Lives of Charlotte Taylor
by Sally Armstrong

Creative Time and Space
by Rice Freeman-Zachery

Some recent favourites:


The Book of Negroes
by Lawrence Hill

On Beauty
by Zadie Smith

Small Island
by Andrea Levy

Tales From Firozsha Baag
by Rohinton Mistry

Take The Risk
by Ben Carson

Purple Hibiscus
by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

Behind the Scenes At The Museum
by Kate Atkinson

Human Croquet
by Kate Atkinson

Blindness
by Jose Saramago

White Teeth
by Zadie Smith