Red Beret Emily Dec 2007

I decided to make another beret for my younger daughter, Emily, since the one I made last year was an unprecedented success. Let’s just say that Emily is… well, suspicious about knitted gifts, at least until she is sure that she’ll love them.

A two-day trip to Maine to visit my in-laws after Christmas was the perfect opportunity to whip up a jaunty red beret. Done like dinner, and mighty cute on her, if I don’t say so myself.

Red Beret 2 Emily Dec 2007

Okay, I know she doesn’t look excited in this photo, but she was, I swear. She was just all about being nonchalant and je ne sais quois.

Tres chic, non?

The pattern is Kristen TenDyke’s “Tweed Beret” from the Winter 2006 issue of Interweave Knits. I used Patons Shetland Chunky Tweeds (washable and low-maintenance… perfect for a university student), on 5mm needles. I made the smaller size, but it is loose-fitting, nonetheless.

And done just in time. We have had SO much snow, it’s crazy. But I confess that I love it. The snowbanks are higher than they have been in years. Lots of businesses were closed down today, as the city was blanketed in the latest of several winter storms. I say, “Bring it on!” Then again, I’m not the one clearing the snow…

