The good kind of blues: a sock in progress, one of Evelyn Clark’s Retro Rib Socks from Favorite Socks.

Retro Rib Sock in progress

This is also my first stab at reducing my yarn stash in 2008. I’m going to try very hard to knit only from my stash this year. There, I’ve said it in public, so all of you who are my yarn enablers can throw this in my face the next time I try to use some fancy pseudo-scientific knitter lingo to try to convince you that I need more yarn. I don’t think it would be possible for me to need more this year, not even if I lost my job and was confined to my home with amphetamines and a maid and chef to take care of the time-consuming drudgery of daily life. Nope. I’d still have lots of yarn.

The bad blues: missing my older daughter, Jess, who left to go back to university this morning. Sad me. Sad dog, too.

Jess & Miette Christmas 2008

And I miss her for more than just her shovelling, although that was pretty awesome.

Jess shovels Christmas 2007

