I know that this isn’t terribly significant, but it feels good nonetheless: I’ve successfully completed step #1 of my first resolution for 2008. I decided to try to knit a pair of socks every month, which will not only result in a dozen pairs of happy feet, but will also bring me closer to completing Resolution #2: to reduce (significantly) my stash of yarn.

These January socks are being mailed to my sister Deanna, as a belated birthday gift.

Retro Ribs Socks stand
Pattern: Retro Rib Socks by Evelyn A. Clark
Source: Favorite Socks (Interweave Press)
Yarn: Regia Stretch
Needles: 2.50mm Pony Pearls

The yarn is interesting… very stretchy, which was strange at first, but it did result in a custom-fit feel.

Retro Ribs socks toes

And here is what happened when I sat on the floor to try to take close-up photos:

Miette camera Jan 27 2008

Sigh.

