Please forgive me, dear readers, for being away from my blog so much lately… but it was all for a good cause. I was in Ontario last week, visiting my daughter Jess, and cavorting with my adorable godson (and nephew), Elliott the Wonder-boy.

Cousins at the window

And there was knitting going on, some of which will only be revealed in the fullness of time. (I love saying that, and really, how often can I?)

The long-awaited Jaywalker socks have been completed. They were gifted to Jess, and she has already worn them. Look closely, because you are unlikely to see another pair of Jaywalkers springing from my needles!

Jaywalkers 1

Jaywalkers 2

Pattern: Jaywalker by Grumperina, at MagKnits
Yarn: Regia Strato Color (colour 5747) by Schachenmayr
Needles: Harmony 2.25 mm dpns from Knit Picks

You know, sometimes — despite having the perfect yarn (it was), a great pattern (no doubt there), no difficulty with the execution (there wasn’t), and a lovely result (check) — a knitting experience just doesn’t excite me. I’m not sure why, but that was the case with these socks. My plan to execute them in the month of February was derailed by a serious case of disinterest (better than a serious case of dysentery… hee). Forgive me; having spent the week with a couple of medical students I was privy to some talk about moderately disgusting bodily functions!

Jaywalkers 5

Of course I couldn’t start another pair, because I have an in-my-head rule that I can only have three projects on the go at one time, one in each of the following categories:
– portable (usually socks)
– mindless (when I’m likely to be distracted – sadly, this is most of the time)
– Herculean (something that makes my heart sing, is challenging, and requires full concentration…which usually means this one is slow-going)

I must say, however, that the Harmony double-pointed needles were absolutely wonderful; and are now by far my favourite sock needles. They’re sleek, nimble, sharp, smooth, and even pretty. This is my version of sports car love.

Since it was Easter weekend, I thought you would appreciate some themed content. Observe young Elliot’s reaction to the Easter Bunny we spotted in the wild:

Elliott reacts to the nice bunny...!

It’s much better when they’re small enough to hold by the ear.

Elliott & his bunny