Miette in sun 5 Jan 2008

This is my dog, Miette. She looks innocent, doesn’t she? Do not be deceived.

All I can say is that it’s a good thing I love her, it’s a good thing she’s cute, and it’s a good thing I have a sense of humour!

The other day I prepared for a trip to the post office, where I was to mail a package to my mother and a little envelope to my friend Lynn’s son and his wife. Inside the envelope there was a tiny pair of hand-knitted socks for their new baby, Nina.

IMG_7112

I put everything I needed into a bag and placed it near the stairs while I put on my jacket, then grabbed the bag and ran out the door, figuring I would seal the envelope once I got to the post office.

When I got there, I could only find one sock in the envelope. I looked under the car seat, emptied my bag several times, and even checked my pockets. No sock.

I returned to the house, looked in the driveway and walkway, opened the front door…and discovered this:

IMG_7120

Somehow my VERY BAD dog had stolen the sock in the few seconds my back had been turned. Miette is well known for her lust for yarn and her preference for wool, and I am always very diligent about keeping my knitted goods away from her. I honestly don’t know how she managed this sleight-of-paw move.

Sigh. I suppose remedial action is required, but it is complicated by the fact that I have very little spare yarn to work with in this case. Bad dog.

For my friends who are not on the East coast in this winter of all winters, I thought you might be interested in the view from my driveway a few days ago. Not to worry, things are improving…I can see my neighbour’s house!

IMG_7100

I’ll end with a warmer image: an asparagus Tosca I made for my daughter a couple of weeks ago when I was visiting her. Ahh, that’s better. I’m off to make a nice cup of tea.

Supper for Jess - still life with an Asparagus Tosca and Q!

