There has been some positive knitting energy happening chez Hetty Knits:

Lizard Ridge basket

It has been a long time since I have had this much fun with a knitting project. It is, of course, the fabulous Lizard Ridge by Laura Aylor. The free pattern is available on Knitty.

Over the years I’ve accumulated quite a few skeins of Noro’s Kureyon, the yarn required for this project, and my daughter convinced me that it is time to get started. Mind you, I didn’t take much convincing, so maybe it was more like aiding and abetting.

I stayed up until 3:00 a.m. one night to master the technique required. Couldn’t help myself. Now that I know how to do it, making the squares for this blanket (each square uses most of a ball of Kureyon) is so much fun it should be illegal. I’m not so sure I’ll feel the same way when the time comes to sew the squares together and create the border, but we shall see.

Lizard Ridge bumps 2

I get a kick out of the “bumps” formed by the short-row technique involved. They’ll flatten and smooth out when I block each square, and I know I’ll miss them.

In other news… the mammoth 2008 snowfall is melting!!

Here is Miette, out on our (finally) snow-free deck. In the background is our brook, with the water running nicely.

Miette on deck with brook apr 13 2008

Look… no ice!

Brook with water closeup Apr 13 2008

Miette finds this very amusing.

Miette observes on deck Apr 13 2008

